Below, our Modesto employment lawyers explain California’s minimum wage laws for 2022.
Increases to California Minimum Wage for Non-Exempt Employees
Since 2017, the minimum wage has increased annually. As of January 1, 2022, employers must pay nearly all non-exempt employees in California per California’s minimum wage laws. Non-exempt employees encompass specific salaried and non-salaried employees.
In 2022, the state’s minimum wage for employers with 26 or more employees is $15.00 per hour. For employers with 25 employers or less, the minimum wage increased to $14.00 per hour. Effective January 1, 2023, the minimum wage will increase to $15.00 per hour for these employers.
Below is the schedule for California minimum wage rates from 2017 to 2023, per the California Labor Commissioner’s Office:
|Date||Minimum Wage for Employers with 25 Employees or Less||Minimum Wage for Employers with 26 Employees or More|
|January 1, 2017||$10.00/hour||$10.50/hour|
|January 1, 2018||$10.50/hour||$11.00/hour|
|January 1, 2019||$11.00/hour||$12.00/hour|
|January 1, 2020||$12.00/hour||$13.00/hour|
|January 1, 2021||$13.00/hour||$14.00/hour|
|January 1, 2022||$14.00/hour||$15.00/hour|
|January 1 2023||$15.00/hour||$15.00/hour|
Keep in mind that there may be local minimum wage laws in your area that require a higher minimum wage for non-exempt employees. If you have questions about how minimum wage laws may affect you as an employee or employer, we recommend that you reach out to an experienced employment attorney.
Increases to California Minimum Salary Laws for Exempt Employees
Most wage and hour laws in California do not apply to exempt employees. Even so, to be considered exempt, an employee must be paid a monthly salary of at least two times the minimum wage for full-time employment. Full-time employment is a 40-hour workweek. Because California’s minimum wage laws increased, exempt employees’ salaries increased.
Below is the schedule for California minimum salary rates for exempt employees based on California’s minimum wage laws from 2017 to 2023.
|Date||Minimum Salary for Employers with 25 Employees or Less||Minimum Salary for Employers with 26 Employees or More|
|January 1, 2017||$41,600||$43,680|
|January 1, 2018||$43,680||$45,760|
|January 1, 2019||$45,760||$49,920|
|January 1, 2020||$49,920||$54,080|
|January 1, 2021||$54,080||$58,240|
|January 1, 2022||$58,240||$62,400|
|January 1 2023||$62,400||$62,400|
Certain occupations may be exempt from California’s minimum salary requirements. If you have questions about California’s minimum salary laws and how these laws may affect you as an employer or an employee, contact our Modesto employment lawyers.
Do You Have Questions About How California’s Minimum Wage Laws Affect You? Contact a Modesto Wage and Hour Lawyer From Our Firm.
If you have questions about how California’s new minimum wage laws may affect you as an employer or an employee, consider reaching out to a Modesto wage and hour lawyer from our firm. Call us at F:P:Sub:Phone} or contact us online, and someone from our firm will be in contact with you soon. We are happy to answer any questions you may have during a consultation.